First Steps

Basic or Craft Freemasonry consists of three degrees:

  • Entered Apprentice
  • Fellow Craft
  • Master Mason

However, once you have become a freemason, there are then a number of other orders that one can join. Each order will have its own criteria for membership but typically freemasons complete the Master Mason degree before they look outside of the Craft. Indeed it is not unusual for people to wait until they have attained the office of Master of the Lodge before looking to extend their masonic knowledge. Guidance from the Berkshire Provincial Executive is to wait until you have served a year as Junior Deacon.

The two most commonly joined orders beyond the Craft are:

Both of these orders are represented in Hungerford.